Thursday 23 Oct 2014, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Krzysztof Urbański conductor

Jan Lisiecki piano

Smetana Vltava from Má Vlast

Chopin Piano Concerto No. 1


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World

When it comes to contributions to the classical music world, Poland has always punched well above its weight, and continues to do so. This concert showcases two of Poland’s most gifted young artists, performing a piano concerto with proud roots in that country’s folk tradition. Its finale is inspired by the lively krakowiak dance, and creates one of the liveliest finales to a concerto in all music. This is bookended by two masterpieces from neighbouring Bohemia.