Venue Details

Nicholas Collon conductor

Alisa Weilerstein cello
Elizabeth Watts soprano

This afternoon’s programme features three masterworks composed within just a few years of each other that meditate upon the appalling carnage of the First World War in strikingly different ways, ranging from Ravel’s tantalising neoclassical restraint and the impassioned nostalgia of Elgar to Vaughan Williams’s haunting eloquence that Holst considered ‘his very essence.’

This concert is part of the Sunday Matinee Series

This concert is supported by The Meyer Foundation

  • Elgar - Cello Concerto
  • Vaughan Williams - Symphony No. 3, Pastoral