Friday 20 Feb 2015, 7.30pmSt David's Hall, Cardiff

Venue Box Office: 029 2087 8444

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Ravel Suite, Ma mère l'oye

Ravel Piano Concerto in G


Stravinsky The Firebird

Story-telling, legends and make-believe lie at the heart of the fairytale world of Ravel's exquisite musical nursery tales and in the colourful barbaric splendour of Stravinsky's Firebird. One of the world's leading conductors and the Philharmonia's principal conductor, Esa-Pekka Salonen, is unmatched in the glittering orchestral virtuosity of these works. One of today's wizards of the piano, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, joins him in Ravel's sparkling Piano Concerto with its Mozartian slow movement.

Image: Locks on the Pont des Arts bridge

Explore our new City of Light website:

This concert is part of the City of Light: Paris 1900 - 1950 series

City of Light: Paris 1900 - 1950 conceived and supported by Vincent Meyer, President Philharmonia Orchestra