Tuesday 17 Feb 2015, 7.30pmDe Montfort Hall, Leicester

Venue Box Office: 0116 233 3111

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Ravel Suite, Ma mère l'oye

Ravel Piano Concerto for the Left Hand


Stravinsky The Firebird

We’re delighted to bring to Leicester Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen’s flagship project, City of Light: Paris 1900-1950. The Franco-Russian connection in the early 1900s, epitomised by Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, produced orchestral music of unmatched luxuriant colour. The ballet music Stravinsky composed for Diaghilev, inspired by an exotic Russian legend, is paired with the dark, brooding colours of Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand.

This concert is supported by the Friends of the Philharmonia.

Image: Ravel's piano photographed in his house in Monfort

Explore our new City of Light website: philharmonia.co.uk/paris

This concert is part of the City of Light: Paris 1900 - 1950 series

City of Light: Paris 1900 - 1950 conceived and supported by Vincent Meyer, President Philharmonia Orchestra