Thursday 31 Jul 2014, 7.45pmWorcester Cathedral, Worcester

Baldur Brönnimann conductor

Yeree Suh soprano

Peter Hoare tenor

Roderick Williams baritone

Matthew Trusler violin

Three Choirs Festival Chorus choir

Elgar The Spirit of England

Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending


Rasch A Foreign Field

This concert seeks to musically commemorate the First World War. Elgar’s The Spirit of England (1917) and Vaughan William’s The Lark Ascending (1921) are complimented by a festival commission and world premiere, A Foreign Field (Echoes 1914), by German composer Torsten Rasch, who moved to Japan following the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.

Dedicated to ‘the memory of our glorious men’, Elgar’s The Spirit of England was originally conceived as a ‘Requiem for the slain’, and takes its title from English poet Robert Laurence Binyon’s work ‘For the Fallen (1914).

Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending celebrates the freedom to be found in the British countryside, weaving around traditional English folk melodies and features a stunning soaring violin melody as the lark.

This concert is part of the Three Choirs Festival series