Wednesday 30 Jan 2013, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Krystian Zimerman piano

Philharmonia Voices

Lutosławski Musique funèbre

Lutosławski Piano Concerto


Ravel Daphnis et Chloé (complete)

Tonight's concert opens the celebrations for the centenary of Lutosławski's birth, on 25 January 1913. What better, therefore, than to open proceedings with his Musique funèbre, which the composer himself described as 'my first word in a new language.' The Piano Concerto is, by comparison, one of Lutosławski's last completed works, a glorious summation of his creative achievement that belongs in the great tradition of Romantic piano concertos stretching all the way back to Chopin and Liszt. There is also a rare opportunity to hear Ravel's complete ballet score Daphnis et Chloé, which shares with Lutosławski's distinctive soundworlds a meticulous attention to detail that is ravishing and utterly magical.