Wednesday 30 Apr 2014, 7.30pm,

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano

Sibelius Finlandia

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Tchaikovsky opened his Symphony No. 5 with a motif the composer himself suggested signified his "complete resignation before fate". Alongside, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet performs Rachmaninov's achingly beautiful Piano Concerto No. 2.