Friday 27 Sep 2013, 7.30pmWaterloo Chamber, Windsor

Venue Box Office: 01753 740121

Nicholas Collon conductor

Benjamin Baker violin

Beethoven Overture, Fidelio

Brahms Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G (Op. 88)

After the sobriety of his Symphony No. 7, Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 harks back to the cheerful Czech feeling of earlier symphonies. The rustic dance of the third movement carries an infectious good humour, whilst the finale offers somewhat of a rarity for Dvořák, as the composer incorporates an inspired set of variations that build towards the movement’s moving climax. Alongside, Benjamin Baker performs Brahms's Violin Concerto, which the composer dedicated to his friend and the most famous violinist of the day, Joseph Joachim.