Thursday 22 May 2014, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Nicholas Angelich piano

Fauré Suite, Pelléas et Mélisande

Ravel Piano Concerto in G


Debussy La mer

Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1919)

Debussy’s principal aim in La mer was ‘to create a mysterious harmony between nature and the imagination’, to translate the play of light on the water and the sea’s place in the natural world into musical sound. Both Fauré and his pupil Ravel tended more towards meticulously fashioned soundscapes, while in The Firebird Stravinsky took the Russian Nationalist tradition to new levels of sensuality.

Tugan Sokhiev’s appearance is supported by The Meyer Foundation