Thursday 8 May 2014, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

David Afkham conductor

Carolin Widmann violin

Lindberg Chorale

Berg Violin Concerto


Schubert Symphony No. 9, The Great

A fascinating programme featuring three highly distinctive works bound together by a common musical theme. In the case of Berg’s Violin Concerto and Lindberg’s Chorale it is a chorale melody employed by Bach, the first three notes of which also act as a musical motto for Schubert’s Great Symphony, whose ‘heavenly length’ (Schumann) grows entirely out of its distinctive rising shape.

We regret to announce that Sergey Khachatryan is indisposed and has had to withdraw from this concert. The Philharmonia is very grateful to Carolin Widmann for stepping in at short notice.