Thursday 3 Apr 2014, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Edward Gardner conductor

Ruxandra Donose mezzo soprano

Wagner Overture, Rienzi

Berlioz La mort de Cléopâtre


Elgar Symphony No. 1

A glorious programme charting the three main stages of Romanticism, from Berlioz through Wagner to the sunset glow of Elgar’s majestic First Symphony, a work so overwhelming that the première audience began applauding at the end of the slow movement, forcing Elgar to come on stage and take a bow before continuing.