Wednesday 14 May 2014, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Truls Mørk cello

Dvořák Cello Concerto


Suk Praga

Janáček Sinfonietta

Dvořák’s Cello Concerto possesses an unceasing flow of invention and lyricism unmatched even by this composer. Suk’s orchestral portrait of Prague pictures it emerging from morning mist, with contrasting themes recalling both episodes from its history and the composer’s own life there, before ending in a blaze of glory. From its origins as a fanfare for a mass gymnastics display, Janáček's striking Sinfonietta grew into his greatest orchestral work, a confident portrait of “the contemporary free man” that the composer hoped would thrive in his newly independent homeland.

This concert is part of the Bohemian Legends series