Friday 2 May 2014, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Esther Yoo violin

Sibelius Finlandia

Sibelius Violin Concerto

Sibelius 'In the Summer', Suite for Violin & String Orchestra, Op. 117


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Vladimir Ashkenazy makes a welcome return to Bedford to present Tchaikovsky’s turbulent Symphony No. 5. Tchaikovsky opened this symphony with a motif that the composer himself suggested signified his “complete resignation before fate”. This concert also introduces violinist Esther Yoo, the youngest ever prize winner of the International Sibelius Competition when she won third prize at just 16 in 2010.