Saturday 5 Apr 2014, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Andrew Gourlay conductor

Michael Petrov cello

Dvořák Cello Concerto


Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2

Although written while the composer was resident in America, Dvořák’s Cello Concerto longingly echoes the folk-inspired Slavic sounds of his homeland. After the devastating reception of his First, Rachmaninov almost didn’t write a Second Symphony. It took several visits to a hypnotist to get the composer working again – “You will work with great facility” was the phrase often repeated by Dr Nikolai Dahl – but the result was one of the most well-received works of Rachmaninov’s career.

Michael Petrov's début with the Philharmonia Orchestra is sponsored by the Hattori Foundation for Music and the Arts.