Monday 9 Sep 2013, 8pmPhilharmonie, Berlin

Venue Box Office: +49 (0)30 254 88-999

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Matthias Goerne baritone

Debussy Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune

Lutosławski Les espaces du sommeil


Ravel Suite, Ma mère l'oye

Lutosławski Symphony No. 3

Debussy and Ravel's meticulously fashioned soundscapes form the perfect musical backdrop to this final tribute to Lutosławski in the composer's centenary year. Les espaces du sommeil, ('The Spaces of Sleep') is a mesmerising setting of a poem by French surrealist Robert Desnos in which Lutosławski imagined 'the singer is telling us about his dreams'. Lutosławski’s Symphony No. 3, commissioned by Georg Solti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1972 and premièred by them in 1983, was described by its first reviewer as "so dazzling in its originality, so powerful in its use of the orchestra’s resources and so remarkable in its ability to communicate that a person had to think of it immediately as a 20th Century masterwork – dare I say a landmark to stand beside masterpieces by Bartók, Prokofiev and Shostakovich?"