Venue Details

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Vladimir Ashkenazy makes a much-anticipated return to Canterbury to present Tchaikovsky’s haunting Manfred Symphony. Ever-plagued by the sudden twists and turns of his own fate, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony was inspired by Lord Byron’s supernatural tale of the lonely, exiled wanderer who was tortured with guilt over an ominously unmentioned offence. This concert also sees the Marlowe Theatre debut of Russian violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who says of her playing that “Curiosity drives me to explore many different musical frontiers”.

  • Shostakovich - Festive Overture Buy on: iTunes / Amazon
  • Tchaikovsky - Manfred Symphony