Venue Details

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Vladimir Ashkenazy makes a much-anticipated return to Leicester to present Tchaikovsky’s haunting Manfred Symphony. Ever-plagued by the sudden twists and turns of his own fate, Tchaikovsky’s symphony was inspired by Lord Byron’s supernatural tale of the lonely, exiled wanderer who was tortured with guilt over an ominously unmentioned offence. This concert also sees the Leicester debut of Russian violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who says of her playing that: “Curiosity drives me to explore many different musical frontiers”.

We are proud to celebrate 10 years as Classic FM’s Orchestra On Tour. This evening’s performance will be introduced from the stage by presenter Nick Bailey.

  • Shostakovich - Festive Overture Buy on: iTunes / Amazon
  • Tchaikovsky - Manfred Symphony