Sunday 8 Sep 2013, 6pmKonzerthaus, Dortmund

Venue Box Office: +49 231 22696 200

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Janine Jansen violin

Dean Testament

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2


Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

Cast in five trailablazing movements, Symphonie fantastique celebrates Berlioz's delirious infatuation with the Irish actress, Harriet Smithson, who crops up throughout by means of her own musical signature or idée fixe. After taking a draft of opium, Berlioz's wild ravings climax in a Witches' Sabbath finale, which sees Harriet consorting with all manner of ghouls and fiends. Alongside, the Philharmonia is joined by soloist Janine Jansen for Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2.