Friday 6 Sep 2013, 7pmWolkenturm, Schloss Grafenegg, Grafenegg

Venue Box Office: +43 (0)1 586 83 83

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Janine Jansen violin

Dean Testament

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2


Beethoven Symphony No. 3, Eroica

At no time in musical history has a composer travelled so far, and as quickly, as Beethoven in the Eroica Symphony. This is music that appears to breathe the air of a different planet, lacerating 18th-century sensibilities along the way. Not only is it longer than any symphony previously written, but the emotional content is startlingly raw, with brutal sforzandos rammed home, harmonic dissonances revelled in as never before, and fizzing virtuosity demanded of the players at every turn. Music would never be the same again. Meanwhile, Beethoven’s hearing was fast fading and by declaring himself ‘emperor’, his hero Napoleon had become ‘just another tyrant’. Alongside, the Philharmonia is joined by soloist Janine Jansen for Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2.