Thursday 15 May 2014, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Truls Mørk cello

Dvořák Cello Concerto


Suk Asrael Symphony

The final Czech concert conducted by Jakub Hrůša pairs Dvořák’s eloquent Cello Concerto with his son-in-law Josef Suk’s heartfelt Asrael Symphony. Composed in memory of Dvořák and his own wife (Dvořák’s daughter), the symphony is named after the angel of death who protects the deceased during their journey in the afterlife to the land of eternal blissfulness.

Regrettably, there is no late entry point in the first half of this concert. Latecomers will only be admitted after the interval.

This concert is part of the Bohemian Legends series