Venue Details

Andris Nelsons conductor

Christian Tetzlaff violin
Hanna Weinmeister viola
Tanja Tetzlaff cello
Martin Helmchen piano
Annette Dasch soprano
James Rutherford bass
Philharmonia Chorus choir

Andris Nelsons’s Brahms series climaxes in Eine deutsches Requiem, composed in memory of the composer’s mother and his most famous champion, Robert Schumann. This epic masterwork expresses a profound emotional release from a young composer who had emerged from desperately impoverished beginnings and now stood on the verge of international acclaim.

Regrettably, there is no late entry point in the first half of this concert. Latecomers will only be admitted after the interval.

This concert is part of the Andris Nelsons: Brahms Cycle

The Andris Nelsons: Brahms Cycle is supported by The Meyer Foundation