Wednesday 5 Feb 2014, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Nicholas Collon conductor

Philippe Graffin violin

Britten 'Four Sea Interludes', Peter Grimes

Britten Violin Concerto (Op. 15)


Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 6

The Philharmonia is delighted to bring charismatic conductor Nicholas Collon to Bedford for this concert showcasing some of Britten’s and Vaughan Williams’s most dramatic works. Britten’s ‘Four Sea Interludes’ capture fleeting moments in the sea’s ever-changeable nature, from the eerie calm of sunrise to the commotion of a final storm. Written in the aftermath of World War II, Vaughan Williams’s agitated and often violent Sixth Symphony has become inextricably associated with the unbridled destruction of the atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki.