Tuesday 4 Feb 2014, 7.30pmButterworth Hall, Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry

Venue Box Office: 024 7652 4524

Nicholas Collon conductor

Raphael Wallfisch cello

Britten 'Four Sea Interludes', Peter Grimes

Elgar Cello Concerto


Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 6

A classic, all-British programme featuring masterpieces from the period immediately following the First and then Second World War. Elgar's hauntingly beautiful Cello Concerto was written in 1919 from the composer's secluded Sussex cottage, from where he had heard the sounds of artillery fire booming across the Channel from France. Vaughan Williams’s Sixth is a firestorm of a symphony, forged amidst the carnage of the Second World War, and ending with an apocalyptic vision of a world in ashes.

Plus…at 6.15pm, join us for a pre-concert talk with conductor Nicholas Collon and Paul McGrath, Director of Music at the University of Warwick in the Woods-Scawen Room.
To book, please call the Box Office on 024 7652 4524.