Thursday 17 Oct 2013, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Stravinsky Four Norwegian Moods

Stravinsky Violin Concerto


Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

Rarely heard in concert, Tchaikovsky’s gripping Manfred Symphony was inspired by Lord Byron’s poem about a guilt-ridden mountain dweller who summons seven spirits in the vain hope they might help him forget the past. The music’s lurching from uncontainable elation to inconsolable despair is the perfect foil for the rhythmically cool, neoclassical soundscapes of Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto and the simply styled folk melodies of the Four Norwegian Moods.