Saturday 13 Oct 2018, 7.30pmJiangsu Grand Theatre, Nanjing

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Krystian Zimerman piano

Ravel Suite, Ma mère l'oye

Bernstein Symphony No. 2, The Age of Anxiety


Bartók Concerto For Orchestra

The orchestra’s Principal Conductor is joined by pianist Krystian Zimerman for Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2, inspired by W H Auden’s poem The Age of Anxiety that follows four strangers as they struggle to combat their loneliness in an increasingly industrialised world. Alongside, Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra; a vibrant work that gives each section of the orchestra a chance to shine, and is rich with influences from throughout Bartòk’s career, from Bach fugues to Hungarian folk dances. 

Asia Tour Partner