Thursday 13 Jun 2013, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

James Ehnes violin

Borenstein If you will it, it is no dream

Elgar Violin Concerto (Op. 61)


Walton Symphony No. 1

Elgar’s epic Violin Concerto was composed for celebrated Viennese virtuoso Fritz Kreisler, who shortly before giving the 1910 world première in London vowed ‘I will shake the Queen’s Hall!’ He obviously had the desired effect as according to one reviewer, ‘for a quarter of an hour they called and recalled the man [Elgar] who had achieved a triumph not only for himself, but also for England, and hailed him as master and hero.’ Elgar’s own opinion was that ‘It’s good! Awfully emotional! Too emotional...but I love it.’ It is accompanied this evening by Walton's great First Symphony, a work and a composer that Vladimir Ashkenazy has championed for many years.