Sunday 9 Jun 2013, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Paavo Järvi conductor

Paul Lewis piano

Arvo Pärt Fratres

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23, K488


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World

Written in 1893 to celebrate the 400th anniversary of Columbus’s discovery of America, From the New World explodes with American folk-inspired rhythms and melodies. Dvořák explained “I have not actually used any of the Native American melodies. I have simply written original themes embodying the peculiarities of the Indian music, and, using these as subjects, have developed them with all the resources of modern rhythms, counterpoint and orchestral colour.” Despite this, Dvořák does not completely shun the infectious folk music of his native Bohemia, the influence of which can be heard throughout the symphony.