Sunday 3 Jun 2018, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Tamás Sándor violin

Emily Davis violin

Yukiko Ogura viola

Richard Birchall cello

Heidi Krutzen harp

Evgenia Startseva piano

Mark van de Wiel clarinet

Adam Wynter bass

Saint-Saëns Fantaisie for Violin and Harp

Debussy Danses Sacrées et Profanes

Martinů Musique de Chambre No. 1

One of Debussy’s most beloved works is framed by two rare harp masterpieces in the final chamber programme of the 2017/18 Philharmonia Chamber Players Series.

The warm melodies that define much of Saint-Saëns’s music infuse his Fantaisie. One of his most intimate compositions, passages of subtle interplay between the duo mingle with arching violin melodies over harp arpeggios.

Debussy’s richly expressive Danses showcase his inventiveness - the solemn melody opening the Danse Sacrée gives way to a warm harp sound that emerges like a ray of sunlight. Later, the Danse profane – an ode to earthly existence – brings to mind the fluid orchestral tapestries of his La mer.

The music of Bohuslav Martinů certainly drew inspirations from Debussy. Musique de Chambre reveals a lush colour palette drawn from the clarinet, piano and harp that combines with pulsing rhythms in the strings.

In the evening performance at 7.30pm, Paavo Järvi conducts The Sorcerer’s Apprentice and Berlioz’s memorable Symphonie fantastique.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series