Friday 18 May 2018, 7.30pmSt David's Hall, Cardiff

Venue Box Office: 029 2087 8444

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Pekka Kuusisto violin

Philharmonia Voices

Crouch End Festival Chorus choir

Students of the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama

Prokofiev Autumnal

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1


Prokofiev Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution

The dreamy lyricism of Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto from 1917 is said to have been inspired by the “wild, virginal and beautiful scenery” of the Ural mountains. 20 years later, his Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the Revolution was kept hidden in a drawer until the death of Stalin. This seldom performed work is written for gargantuan choral and orchestral forces and includes an accordion band, alarm bells, siren and speaker. First, Prokofiev's Autumnal which features slithering strings and dark woodwind tones reminiscent of suspense music from Hitchcock's films.

This concert is part of the Voices of Revolution: Russia 1917 series