Sunday 18 Feb 2018, 3.30pmSt David's Hall, Cardiff

Venue Box Office: 029 2087 8444

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Piotr Anderszewski piano

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1


Mahler Symphony No. 5

Traversing Classical to Romantic, this programme juxtaposes the lyrical sweep and exhilarating energy of Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto with the gripping drama of Mahler’s Fifth Symphony. Built over five movements, its emotional journey from darkness to light encompasses a funeral march, a wild Scherzo and a ravishing Adagietto subsequently made famous for its use in Visconti’s film Death in Venice. Its life affirming finale is one of the most glorious movements in all of Mahler's music.