Thursday 14 Sep 2017, 4.30pmRomanian Athenaeum, Bucharest

Venue Box Office: +4021 315 68 75

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Michael Barenboim violin

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1


Shostakovich Symphony No. 10

The Philharmonia’s Conductor Laureate Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts an all Russian programme spanning the start of the Revolution in 1917 to Stalin’s death in 1953. First Prokofiev’s glittering Violin Concerto, home to a dazzling Scherzo performed by superlative violinist Michael Barenboim followed by Shostakovich’s violent and impassioned Tenth Symphony which musically epitomizes the terror of the Stalin years.