Wednesday 23 May 2018, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Daniele Gatti conductor

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, Italian


Brahms Symphony No. 2

Mendelssohn’s irresistibly exuberant Italian Symphony captures his impressions of the country in four exquisite movements. The slow movement is a pilgrim’s march, and the gently flowing scherzo is followed by an exhilarating Neapolitan salterello. Brahms’ Second Symphony was written while on holiday in the summer of 1877 and is predominantly lyrical and relaxed, before an explosion of joy in the finale.