Friday 20 Oct 2017, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Alpesh Chauhan conductor

Elena Urioste violin

Copland Fanfare for the Common Man

Korngold Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World


There’s a good reason why certain pieces become classics, and with its combination of melody, nostalgia and high drama, Dvořák’s New World Symphony has been loved by audiences ever since its premiere in 1893. First, though, discover two very different but equally tuneful masterpieces from across the pond: Copland’s mighty musical salute to freedom, and the sumptuous, gloriously songful violin concerto that Erich Korngold wrote in 1940s Hollywood — performed by Elena Urioste.

This concert is supported by