Tuesday 7 May 2013, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Sir Andrew Davis conductor

Lise de la Salle piano

Elgar Overture, In the South (Alassio) (Op. 50)

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 9, K271 Jeunehomme


Vaughan Williams A London Symphony

The day after the first performance of Vaughan Williams’s A London Symphony, on 27 March 1914, George Butterworth wrote to the composer that he was 'frightfully glad' that 'you have at last achieved something worthy of your gifts'. Vaughan Williams later confided to Sir John Barbirolli that it was his own favourite of the nine symphonies he wrote. A slow, quiet introduction depicts dawn, with the harp and clarinet sounding the chimes of Westminster, followed by scenes of Bloomsbury Square, the East End, and finally a tragic appassionata presumably depicting the grimmer sides of city life at that time. Before that, a Mozart Concerto composed at the age of 21. Unlike his previous eight written for himself to perform, the Ninth was Mozart’s first chance to write for a real pianist, Mlle Jeunehomme, a professional French pianist who made her living as a touring virtuoso. Rising to this occasion, the work proudly shows off the young composer’s burgeoning talent.