Friday 26 Apr 2013, 7.30pmDe Montfort Hall, Leicester

Venue Box Office: 0116 233 3111

Kazuki Yamada conductor

Vadim Repin violin

Liszt Les Préludes

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1


Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

The Violin Concerto is Bruch’s best-known work by far, and has earned its place as a regular feature in concert halls around the world. Although it was an instant success when it was performed in 1866, it took the best part of four years to complete, with considerable technical input from the famed violinist Joseph Joachim. The result is a blend of soaring Romantic melodies and exhilarating drama, and there are few better to perform it than internationally-acclaimed violinist, Vadim Repin. Also featured is Berlioz’s ground-breaking work, Symphonie fantastique – an ‘opera without words’ mythologizing Berlioz’s obsession with an English actress. The hero imagines a love affair which ends ultimately in his execution for the murder of his lover. This concert marks the début of Japanese conductor, Kazuki Yamada, a bright talent described by the Telegraph in March 2011 as a ‘star in the making: let's hope we hear more of him’.