Sunday 8 Oct 2017, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Hilary Hahn violin

Dvořák Violin Concerto in A minor


Smetana Má Vlast

Dancing, daring, driving, Dvořák’s Violin Concerto releases incredible energy, filled with folk-like melodies and infectious syncopated rhythms. Alongside, Smetana’s dedication to the city of Prague, Má Vlast.

A set of six symphonic poems, Má Vlast tells the story of a city; from its ancient high castle, Vyšehrad; the winding journey of the river Vltáva via woods, water nymphs and rapids; the tale of the female warrior Šárka and her quest for revenge against all men; Bohemia’s woods and fields; the Bohemian city of Tábor; and finally, the legendary mountain Blaník, where the knights led by St Wenceslas sleep ready to awake at the call of the country’s gravest hour.