Sunday 9 Oct 2016, 3pmZellerbach Hall, Berkeley, University of California

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Nicholas Phan tenor

Michelle DeYoung mezzo soprano

Hadleigh Adams bass baritone

Thomas Glenn tenor

Carl Lumbly narrator

Young Women’s Chorus of San Francisco choir

San Francisco Conservatory of Music Men’s Chorus choir

Lund University Men’s Chorus choir

Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms


Stravinsky Oedipus rex

Cal Performances welcomes the phenomenal Philharmonia Orchestra of London, led by trailblazing principal conductor and artistic advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen, for a residency that celebrates two themes dear to the conductor's heart: Igor Stravinsky and California. Salonen has been a Californian for almost 25 years, praised by the Los Angeles Times as an "open, communicative, imaginative artist—among the most beloved of our town and time." Stravinsky was an Angeleno for nearly 30 years, during which time he composed the 12-tone ballet Agon (Program B), and re-orchestrated the brilliant homage to Debussy, Symphonies of Wind Instruments (Program B).

Two programs explore the fantastic breadth of Stravinsky's orchestral works, from the revolutionary The Rite of Spring of his Ballets Russes years; to the ritualistic opera-oratorio Oedipus Rex, which features guest soloists, including mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung, and a male chorus with a libretto by Jean Cocteau; and the Symphony of Psalms, "one of the most deeply moving and genuinely spiritual pieces Stravinsky ever wrote" (The Guardian, London). Opening night features the orchestra in a program that balances Beethoven's timeless Eroica Symphony with Sibelius' majestic, nature-inspired Fifth Symphony.

Pioneers in audience engagement, and early adopters of innovative technologies used to increase public access to symphonic music, Salonen and the Philharmonia Orchestra are exemplars of Berkeley RADICAL's mission of fostering greater artistic literacy, and will connect closely with the campus and community during the residency.