Friday 7 Apr 2017, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Julian Rachlin violin

Brahms (orch Dvořák) Hungarian Dances (Nos.17-21)

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G (Op. 88)

Brahms’ Hungarian Dances were immediately popular and successful. Originally written for piano duet, the final book of the set is heard here in orchestrations by Dvořák. Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto was written while on holiday recovering from his disastrous marriage. It begins in heroic vein, followed by a tender and beautiful slow movement. The spectacular finale takes the form of a whirling Russian dance. Dvořák's Eighth Symphony was written at his home in the depths of the rural Bohemia and is imbued with the spirit of folk music and the countryside.

Please note that the violinist Sergey Khachatryan has had to withdraw from this concert due to visa issues. We are delighted that Julian Rachlin has stepped in to replace him.