Tuesday 21 Feb 2017, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Richard Watkins horn

Katy Woolley horn

Nigel Black horn

Michael Thompson horn

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor


Davies Forest - A Concerto for Four Horns and Orchestra(World Premiere)

Richard Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra

Beethoven’s last piano concerto is his most brilliant and powerful. The confident outer movements are balanced by an inward-looking slow movement, which moves into the finale with a simple but magical transition. It’s followed by a new piece for the orchestra’s horn section, which showcases the rhythmically driving, iridescent sound world of composer Tansy Davies. Strauss’ symphonic poem opens with one of the most striking passages in all music. But there’s much more to it than that, and it is one of the composer’s most ambitious orchestral works, daringly closing on an enigmatic and ambiguous note.

6.30pm Free pre-concert talk

Tansy Davies' Concerto for Four Horns and Orchestra was commissioned by Esa-Pekka Salonen for the Philharmonia Orchestra’s 70th Anniversary.