Saturday 28 May 2016, 7.30pmBrighton Dome, Brighton

Venue Box Office: 01273 709709

David Murphy conductor

Kala Ramnath indian classical violin

Gurdain Rayatt tabla

Pirashanna Thevarajah percussion

Simon Blendis violin

Art Malik narrator

Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending

Butterworth The Banks of Green Willow

Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Ramnath The Seasons of India

Music, words and imagery combine in this special concert as part of Dr Blighty week at Brighton Festival, originally conceived by Ajay Chhabra (Nutkhut Artistic Director).

Marrying classical music traditions from East and West, the Philharmonia Orchestra perform some of the best-loved English works of the period, interspersed with violin virtuoso Kala Ramnath's own traditional music scored for violin, orchestra and Indian folk instruments. Alongside the music will be readings from letters and diaries written by the Indian servicemen recuperating in Brighton, narrated by Art Malik - making for a truly poignant and evocative evening.

For more information on Dr Blighty and the originators and artists of the project, Nutkhut, click on the links.