Thursday 10 Nov 2016, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Paavo Järvi conductor

Leonidas Kavakos violin

Haydn Symphony No. 102

Brahms Violin Concerto


Nielsen Symphony No. 2, The Four Temperaments

The inspiration for Nielsen’s Second Symphony came from a day spent drinking beer in a village pub, where above the table hung a cartoon sketch of ‘The Four Temperaments’: Choleric, Phlegmatic, Melancholic and Sanguine. Alongside, the Brahms Violin Concerto, performed by one of the greatest violinists in the world, Leonidas Kavakos: ‘fabulously poised with an exceptional dynamic range.’ (The Guardian)

This concert is part of the Paavo Järvi: Nielsen Cycle series

This concert is sponsored by

  • Symphony No. 2 - I
  • Symphony No. 2 - II
  • Symphony No. 2 - III