Thursday 17 Nov 2016, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Alice Sara Ott piano

Borodin Overture, Prince Igor

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1


Rachmaninov Symphony No. 1

Vladimir Ashkenazy’s exploration of Rachmaninov’s orchestral works culminates with the composer’s First Symphony, a piece overflowing with ideas, unified by an ever-evolving motif shaped by the Dies Irae of Gregorian chant, a stamp that would appear again and again in Rachmaninov’s works. Alongside, the sweeping lyricism of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is performed by rising-star pianist Alice Sara Ott.

This concert is supported by trustees of the Philharmonia Trust