Sunday 23 Oct 2016, 3pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Krzysztof UrbaƄski conductor

Nikolai Lugansky piano

Grieg Peer Gynt, Suite No. 1

Grieg Piano Concerto


Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition (arr. Ravel)

Grieg’s towering Piano Concerto follows the story of Peer Gynt, in which the hero hurtles through the Nordic countryside to the eerie kingdoms of the Hall of the Mountain King. Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition curates a musical walk-round a gallery past paintings of gnomes, witches, medieval castles and the final pealing bells of the Great Gate of Kiev.

This concert is part of the series