Thursday 9 Jun 2016, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor

Gil Shaham violin

Shostakovich Festive Overture

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto


Prokofiev Symphony No. 5

Pablo Heras-Casado conducts a trio of Russian masterpieces. Initially deemed ‘unplayable’, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto is still considered to be one of the most technically challenging works for violin. Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony is dazzlingly orchestrated and full of brilliant solos, ominous percussion and triumphant melodies.