Thursday 14 Apr 2016, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Denis Kozhukhin piano

Rachmaninov The Isle of the Dead

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2


Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

One of the most electrifying orchestral works of the last century, Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances hurtles us through gripping sequences of defiant march rhythms, heavy nostalgia and eerie waltzing towards a demonic finale, capped by Rachmaninov's musical spectre, the Dies Irae (‘Day of Judgement’) chant, marking his creative apotheosis.

Please note: Unfortunately, Boris Berezovsky, who was due to perform in this concert has had to withdraw due to international scheduling reasons. However, we are delighted that Russian pianist Denis Kozhukhin will step in to perform the same work, Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2, with the Orchestra and Vladimir Ashkenazy.

This concert is part of the Rachmaninov Project series