Wednesday 6 Feb 2013, 6.45pmAichi Arts Center, Nagoya-shi

Venue Box Office: +81 52 972 0430

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Akiko Suwanai violin

Beethoven Overture, King Stephen

Sibelius Violin Concerto


Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Written at a turbulent time in the composer’s life, Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony is a brilliant example of the tragic yet otherworldly genius that has come to be associated with Beethoven’s music. Napoleonic wars, unrequited love, financial difficulties combine to create a melting pot for the work that resulted. Its highlight comes in the second movement – the Allegretto – where this unrest seems to pour out in a slow, dark, searingly beautiful form.