Thursday 1 Oct 2015, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Sarah Oates violin

Tamás Sándor violin

Fiona Cornall violin

Soong Choo violin

Yukiko Ogura viola

Gwendolyn Fisher viola

Richard Birchall cello

Maria Zachariadou cello

Richard Strauss Capriccio Sextet

Mendelssohn Octet, Op. 20

The Philharmonia’s 2015/16 Chamber Music Series opens with Mendelssohn's Octet, a work full of youthful verve and vitality, which combines all the breadth of a symphonic work with the intimacy of a smaller chamber work. Written in 1825 when the composer was just 16 years old, it has remained a favourite of audiences and musicians alike since its first performance.

Before this we hear Richard Strauss's Capriccio Sextet, the introduction from his last operatic venture. Drawing quotations from composers admired by Strauss and from his own back catalogue, Strauss intended his composition to be “no work for the public, only a fine dish for connoisseurs”, and was pleasantly surprised when it was deemed a success by audiences.

This concert is part of the series