Wednesday 2 Mar 2016, 7.30pmCambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge

Venue Box Office: 01223 357851

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Esther Yoo violin

Rachmaninov The Rock

Sibelius Violin Concerto

Richardson laulan


Rachmaninov Symphony No. 3

Vladimir Ashkenazy, one of the world’s greatest musicians, leads the prestigious Philharmonia Orchestra in his Corn Exchange début appearance.

Recently named a BBC New Generation Artist, Esther Yoo displays the full range of her virtuosic skills with a mesmerising interpretation of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto. Rachmaninov bookends this superlative concert; opening with the spritely fantasia The Rock and concluding with the elegant and vivacious Symphony No.3.

Pre-concert talk: 6pm at Cambridge University Press Bookshop - Free to concert ticket holders. In conversation with James Williams, Head of UK programming at the Philharmonia Orchestra and Jay Richardson, the composer of one of tonight's works, Laulan.

On sale as part of 7 concert subscription from 21 May to 25 June; then as part of 6 or 4 concert subscription from 30 June; then on sale as an individual concert from 7 July.