Wednesday 16 Mar 2016, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Tomáš Jamník cello

Mendelssohn Overture, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

Schumann Cello Concerto in A minor (Op. 129)


Brahms Symphony No. 1

Brahms famously took years to write his First Symphony and was 42 by the time of its première. It was the spectre of Beethoven holding him back: "You have no idea what it's like to hear the footsteps of a giant like that behind you". However, the symphony at last came to fruition in 1876 and was an instant success - "Beethoven's Tenth" conductor Hans von Bülow rather pointedly called it.