Thursday 3 Sep 2015, 7.30pmCadogan Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Benjamin Ellin conductor

Mayuko Katsumura violin

Sibelius En Saga

Ellin Miyabi - Concerto for Violin & Orchestra(World première)


Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G (Op. 88)

Violinist Mayuko Katsumura and conductor Benjamin Ellin join the Philharmonia Orchestra in a programme featuring Sibelius’ revealing tone poem En saga before the conductor’s own and much anticipated violin concerto, Miyabi. This new work fuses together strands of Japanese folklore with the traditions from both performer’s cultures and is packed with musical drama, excitement, intensity and joy.

‘Ellin’s is a musical voice well worth getting acquainted with.’
(Richard Whitehouse, Gramophone, October 2012)

The concert concludes with the radiant Eighth Symphony by Dvořák, a masterpiece which brims with Bohemian folk-tunes, exhilarating orchestral sounds and beautiful harmonies. Little wonder this symphony is one of Dvořák’s most delightful, carefree works.